Our Leadership

Our leadership is experienced and invested. Key members of our management team possess an average of thirty years of experience in the oil and gas industry, primarily within the DJ Basin.

Lynn A. Peterson

President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of the Board

Mr. Peterson joined the Company in May 2015 and currently serves as the Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President. He was a co-founder of Kodiak Oil & Gas Corporation (“Kodiak”), and served Kodiak as a director (2001-2014) and as its President, Chief Executive Officer (2002-2014) and Chairman of the Board (2011-2014), until its acquisition by Whiting Petroleum Corporation in December 2014. Mr. Peterson served as a director of Whiting Petroleum Corporation from December 2014 to June 2015. Mr. Peterson has been a member of the board of directors of Denbury Resources Inc. since May of 2017. Mr. Peterson has over 35 years of industry experience. He graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting.

Raymond E. McElhaney


Mr. McElhaney has been one of our directors since May 2005 and in May of 2018 was elected as lead director. Mr. McElhaney began his career in the oil and gas industry in 1983 as founder and President of Spartan Petroleum and Exploration, Inc. Mr. McElhaney also served as a chairman and secretary of Wyoming Oil & Minerals, Inc., a publicly traded corporation, from February 2002 until 2005. From 2000 to 2003, he served as vice president and secretary of New Frontier Energy, Inc., a publicly traded corporation. Mr. McElhaney is a co-founder of MCM Capital Management Inc., a privately held financial management and consulting company formed in 1990 and has served as its president of that company since inception.

Jack Aydin


Mr. Aydin was employed as an analyst by KeyBanc Capital Markets from 1973 through July 1, 2014, most recently serving as Senior Managing Director since April 2012. With KeyBanc, Mr. Aydin concentrated his analyst coverage on integrated oil companies and the exploration and production sector, and for the past several years focused in particular on small to mid-cap exploration and production companies. Mr. Aydin is a member of the National Association of Petroleum Investment Analysts, the Oil Analysts Group of New York, and the New York Society of Security Analysts. Mr. Aydin holds an M.B.A. degree in finance and economics, as well as a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration, from Fairleigh Dickinson University in New Jersey, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Philosophy from St. Ephraim College in Mosul, Iraq.

Daniel E. Kelly


Mr. Kelly has 34 years of experience in the oil and gas industry focused on the development of energy assets in the Western United States. He spent the last 13 years in various capacities with Noble Energy, Inc., including Vice President in charge of the DJ Basin (Wattenberg) Business Unit before he retired in March 2015. In 2014, he served on the Governor’s Colorado Oil and Gas Task Force. He earned a degree in Petroleum Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines.

Paul Korus


Mr. Korus was the Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Cimarex Energy Co. from September of 2002 until his retirement in 2015, and held the same positions with its predecessor, Key Production Company, from 1999 through 2002. He was a senior investment research analyst with Petrie Parkman & Co from 1995 through 1999, and was with Apache Corporation for thirteen years prior to that. Mr. Korus graduated from the University of North Dakota with a Bachelor of Science in Economics, and also earned a Master of Science in Accounting there.

Jennifer S. Zucker


Ms. Zucker is an attorney with Greenberg Traurig in Washington D.C. where she joined as a shareholder in the Government Contracts & Projects Practice in January 2018. Her practice focuses on the defense sector and intelligence community. Previously, she was a partner at the Washington, DC law firms of Wiley Rein and Squire Patton Boggs. Ms. Zucker currently serves as a Colonel in the U.S. Army Reserve, where she commands the 13th Legal Operations Detachment – Expert, and was recently selected to the 2018 DirectWomen Board Institute class.